Enterprise SQL Software?

I just don’t understand how Microsoft considers some of their products Enterprise software. Most recent case – I have been moving mailboxes to a new Exchange server over the past few days. I moved the mailbox that the SQL Mail on the SQL servers is setup to use… and it broke SQL mail. No jobs were sending their emails anymore. I verified Outlook worked from the SQL server (don’t even get me started on the need to have a full mapi client installed on production servers) and all was well there. The SQL Mail test button also worked. But no email from the jobs that needed to send email.

So, after hours I had to restart SQL services on the production SQL servers. Now how is this Enterprise software? This is not the first time I have had SQL Mail cause issues requiring a restart of the SQL services to get email working through SQL Mail. I just don’t understand how this can be called Enterprise quality software.

Leave a Reply

