Laptop Repaired and Fedora 8

I finally have my laptop display repaired… again! Supposedly they replaced the LCD this time. Hopefully my display will actually continue to work. The turn around was pretty quick this time though – we used a different after market warranty provider this time. I sent it in Monday afternoon, received a call from them on Tuesday while they were working on it and received it on Wednesday – just in time for the Thanksgiving holiday.

First thing I did was install Fedora 8 on it (reminder, it’s HP nx7400). I have been anxious to play with it on my main laptop to see how much the suspend and hibernation efforts paid off, as well as seeing if my onboard wireless worked without jumping through hoops and sacrificing a chicken.

Very pleased so far! Wireless was working with minimal fuss. Suspend works quite nicely and hibernate also works, though a little slow, but it works. The buttons for volume control work as well. Adjusting brightness with the fn key also works with no issues. The lights for those buttons do not work, but that is not a major deal. The wireless light also does not work – though the wireless is working.

Everything is very snappy, I as able to enable Compiz with no issues. I installed Compiz Fusion, but haven’t been able to get it to work completely. I have not spent much time with that yet. I may be missing something simple though. We’ll see when I have more time to look at it.

So…. Another laptop and another success!

8 Responses to Laptop Repaired and Fedora 8

  1. Avrohom says:

    Hello. I’m so happy to come across your post. I also have a compaq nx7400 and installed Fedora 8 on it this morning. Everything came up ok, however, I’m pretty new to linux and can’t, for the life of me figure out how to get the wireless driver working. Any help would be appreciated – avrohomg@gmail.com

    Thanks!

  2. Avrohom says:

    Another question I had was how did you install VMware. I need it desperately, however, when I try to install it, I get an error during compilation:

    The directory of kernel headers (version 2.6.23.1-49.fc8) does not match your
    running kernel (version 2.6.21-2950.fc8xen).

    Have you ever come across this? What should I do?
    Thanks,

    Avrohom

  3. Elfshadow says:

    I also have a compaq nx7400 and installed Fedora 8 on it this morning. Everything came up ok, however, I’m pretty new to linux and can’t, for the life of me figure out how to get the wireless driver working.

    I had a bit of luck going for me I believe. It did not work initially for me after the initial installation.

    I went to the Services applet and stopped Networking and set it to not start on boot. Then I started the NetworkManager and NetworkManagerDirector service and set them to start on boot. I rebooted, then went to the Network Manager icon by the clock and was able to tell it to connect to Other Wireless Network and it started working.

    Good luck!

  4. Elfshadow says:

    Another question I had was how did you install VMware. I need it desperately, however, when I try to install it, I get an error during compilation:

    The directory of kernel headers (version 2.6.23.1-49.fc8) does not match your
    running kernel (version 2.6.21-2950.fc8xen).

    I haven’t moved VMware to this F8 install yet. But that error looks like the kernel-devel package you have doesn’t match the kernel you have booted with.

    It looks like you are running a Xen kernel and the kernel headers you have installed are non-Xen ones. You might be able to get by with ‘yum install kernel-xen-devel’ to get the Xen kernel headers installed.

    Also, there was been some talk on the Fedora Mailing List about Fedora 8 and VMware. The list archives are here:

    https://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-list/

    Good luck!

  5. Avrohom says:

    Thanks for your quick reply! Your response about the kernel versions did the trick, although, vmware still did not compile due to “something” not being supported in F8. I read on the msg boards that there still is some frustration about that.

    The wireless card, though, did not work at all. I couldn’t even add it manually in network manager. Any additional advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

    Avrohom

  6. Elfshadow says:

    The wireless card, though, did not work at all. I couldn’t even add it manually in network manager. Any additional advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

    Judging from fedoraforum.org posts I think I am lucky to have had mine start working. I did see this bug:

    F8 Intel 3945 Chipset Bug

    Maybe that will help?

    If not, try looking through some of the posts in the Networking section at fedoraforum.org. Perhaps one of the comments there will help as well.

  7. Avrohom says:

    Thank you, once again, for your quick reply! That got part of it to work. I can now see it under hardware with a status of ok. The problem is that I still can’t get it into “devices” in network manager. When I press the wifi button on my laptop, it doesn’t turn on. I know I must be missing something small.

    I also have another problem. I’m connected to an Acer AL2016W monitor and the resolution is stuck on 1600×1200. I tried lowering it to several other settings, rebooting, and it still comes up at that. Do you know any ways to force it to a specific resolution?

    Thanks again!

    Avrohom

  8. Elfshadow says:

    The problem is that I still can’t get it into “devices” in network manager. When I press the wifi button on my laptop, it doesn’t turn on. I know I must be missing something small.

    I installed the Xen kernel last night. My wireless is not working under that kernel. At this point I haven’t taken the time to troubleshoot it and just booted back into the non-Xen kernel.

    As for the wifi button, the light doesn’t go on or off on mine when pressing the button either and the wireless still works. I think that’s just a feature not implemented yet (the little blue light).

    I also have another problem. I’m connected to an Acer AL2016W monitor and the resolution is stuck on 1600×1200. I tried lowering it to several other settings, rebooting, and it still comes up at that. Do you know any ways to force it to a specific resolution?

    I haven’t had resolution issues in quite sometime on a Fedora box, so my troubleshooting skills for that are not what they used to be. If you are still having trouble with this, I would try the fedoraforum.org or the Fedora mailing list. I bet someone will have the answer for you quickly.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

