Basement Cleanup

With a long weekend we decided to clean up some of the junk in our basement. It really wasn’t that bad, a good portion of the task was just breaking down lots of cardboard boxes, sweeping up the floor, vacuuming the corners and making our storage piles a little more organized. By the end we easily created enough space for the kids to ride bikes in the basement – a nice feature for when they start feeling trapped inside due to winter temps or unfavorable yard conditions.

I also took the time to finally power up some of the hardware I have down there that I have acquired over that past year or so. Despite my having moved to virtual machines for nearly all my testing, I have a really hard time saying no when someone offers to give me some hardware. So there were several machines that I had down there that I simply needed to power up and see what I had.

One was an older Dell desktop, nothing particularly noteworthy, I was hoping for an upgrade for my parent’s old machine or perhaps a machine for my son. But it didn’t have any RAM. I labeled it and put it off to the side, I am sure if I dig into one of the other carcasses down there I can find some RAM for it – but that was not today’s project.

I also had four rack mountable “servers” that I had played with yet. They were no-name servers and really more of a PC stuck in a rack mounted case. Two of them were without RAM, so labeled and off to the side they went. The other two were decent machines for home server use. One was a PIII 600 with 256MB of RAM and a 20GB hard drive. Looks like it had a copy of Windows 2000 Server on it – that will be replaced with Fedora or CentOS when the time comes to use that box.

The other was a dual processor PIII 700 with 1GB of RAM. It had a Clark Connect Linux install on it. I had never heard of Clark Connect before, but it appears to be based off of a Red Hat OS and judging from the Clark Connect website it was probably a Gateway version. I did not play with it much, I was mainly just trying to get the hardware specs from the machines and determining if they were bootable. I will probably play with it just a bit more before I blow it away and replace it with Fedora or CentOS.

I also had an old machine I use to “host” at a friend’s house with a high speed connection when we first moved into an area without high speed several years ago. I powered it up just to see if it still booted and to remind myself as to what the specs were for that machine. It was from an era when I used to run Debian and it still booted with no issues save for a really noisy fan. Nothing noteworthy hardware wise.

And finally I powered up an old SGI Indy I came into. It booted up with no issues. I did not have a login for the box, so it will be another day when I reset the root password on that box and actually poke around more on it. My primary interest was to see if it booted – and it did.

I labeled all the machines, stacked them back up and now I just have to figure out what I want to do with them. I will probably not make any decisions to that end until I go through my old stash of test machines I used to use and decide which ones of those to finally get rid of.

2 Responses to Basement Cleanup

  1. Joe says:

    I probably have the RAM for that old Dell. That is the one that I gave you?

    I think it is a 700MHZ PIII. If I recall correctly there should be a 20 gig hard drive with Suse 7 or 8 on it.

    -Joe

  2. jtadlock says:

    Yep, it is the Dell you gave me. I finally got around to firing it up along with a bunch of other hardware this past weekend. If you have some that you don’t need that would be great. I think I could actually get some use out of it. I have a couple of ideas in mind.

    Those rack mounted boxes are pretty cool too. Two of them fired right up. We installed Fedora 8 on one of them over the weekend, no issues. I will probably do the same to the more powerful one as well.

Leave a Reply

